top of page

The Primrose Piano Quartet, with Leon Bosch (double bass)

9 Sept 2017

Brahms: Piano Quartet No 3 in C minor, Op 60
Bottesini: Gran Duo for Violin and Double Bass
Schubert: Piano Quintet in A major, D667 (“The Trout”)

The Primrose Piano Quartet is named after the great Scottish violist William Primrose.

Brahms was living in the Schumann household when he wrote his C minor Piano Quartet; it contains coded references to Clara Schumann.  Giovanni Bottesini is remembered now as a legendary double-bass virtuoso and composer, but he was a highly regarded leading musician in 19th-century Italy, and was invited by Verdi to conduct the premiere of Aida in Cairo.  The double bass then features in Schubert’s immortal “Trout” quintet.

bottom of page