top of page

The Mithras Trio

3 Jun 2023

Haydn: Piano Trio in C major
Arno Babadjanian: Piano Trio in F sharp minor
Tchaikovsky: Piano Trio in A minor

The Mithras Trio, which was formed in 2017 at the Guildhall School of Music, is currently a member of BBC Radio 3’s prestigious New Generation Artists Scheme and has also won several major music competitions.

Their programme comprises three contrasting piano trios by Haydn, Babadjanian and Tchaikovsky. The Haydn Trio was published during his 2nd visit to London in 1795 where he was hailed as the greatest living composer. This cheerful and exuberant work, is a contrast to the Trio by the 20th century Armenian composer Arno Babadjanian, written in 1952, which is a work full of passionate and memorable melodies with wonderful writing for all three instruments. The Tchaikovsky Piano Trio of 1882 comes after the interval; a work which he wrote at the behest of his patroness Nadezhda von Meck, and as a memorial to his friend and mentor Nicolas Rubinstein who died at that time. With its rich texture, wonderful melodies and its high emotion dramatically expressed, this is quintessential Tchaikovsky.

bottom of page