top of page

Sacconi String Quartet with Andrew Berridge (viola)

13 May 2017

Haydn: String Quartet in D major, Op 76 No 5
Beethoven: String Quintet in C major, Op 29
Schubert: String Quartet in D minor, D810 (“Death and the Maiden”)

Between two familiar works of the 18th-century Viennese repertoire, the Sacconi are joined by violist Andrew Berridge in a delightful string quintet by Beethoven, written in 1801.  While its first two movements are reminiscent of Mozart, the last two look forward to the composer’s late mature style.

bottom of page