top of page

Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Stsura (piano)

15 Jul 2017

Richard Strauss: Sonata for Violin and Piano in E flat major, Op 18
Schubert: Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, D574 (“Grand Duo”)
Poulenc: Sonata for Violin and Piano (1942-43)

Critics have run out of superlatives to describe the playing of 26-year-old Michael Foyle, who has already made several international debut appearances.  The violin sonata of 1887 is the last significant piece of chamber music that Strauss wrote before he devoted himself to opera and orchestral music.  Its three movements progress from lyricism to heroic passion.

This concert is financially supported by Making Music.

bottom of page