top of page

Lipatti Piano Quartet

29 May 2021

Beethoven: Piano Quartet in E flat, Op.16
Fauré: Piano Quartet no.1 in C minor, Op.15

The Lipatti Piano Quartet was formed in 2013 by four young award-winning instrumentalists, and has established a reputation for the quality and commitment of its interpretations of both classical and contemporary works for piano quartet.

Beethoven completed his Quintet for piano and winds in 1796. Whilst its genial and urbane music clearly owes a debt to Mozart’s quintet for the same combination, Beethoven’s own voice can be distinctly heard. He arranged it, with minimal reworking, as a piano quartet, and published both versions as Op.16 in 1801.

Gabriel Fauré’s first Piano Quartet has become one of his best-loved works. Although in a minor key, it is predominantly positive in tone.

bottom of page