top of page

Ferio Saxophone Quartet

17 Jul 2021

Purcell: Rondeau from Abdelazer
Handel: movements from Water Music Suite No 2
J S Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No 3
Jean Baptiste Singelée: Grand Quatuor Concertant Op. 79
Eugène Bozza: Andante et Scherzo
Guillermo Lago: three movements from Ciudades
Guillermo Lago: Composed Upon Westminster Bridge, from The Wordsworth Poems
Bizet: Suite from Carmen

Huw Wiggin gave a much appreciated solo recital in St Peter’s in 2016; we now welcome Huw and colleagues forming the Ferio Saxophone Quartet, to play music composed for this combination as well as arrangements of works from the Baroque to the 20th century.

The Ferio Quartet has received an enthusiastic reception from audiences and critics alike, and has won a number of competitions and awards. The quartet has given the first perfomances of several newly-commissioned works, and works closely with composer Guillermo Lago, who wrote Ciudades as musical sketches of several cities  with a special meaning to him.

bottom of page