top of page

Dominic Degavino (piano)

28 Aug 2021

Bach: English Suite No. 1 in A Major
Chopin: Ballade No. 1 in G minor, Op. 23
Liszt: Anneés de Pèlerinage, Book 1 (complete)

Dominic Degavino was educated at Chetham’s School and the Royal Northern College of Music, continuing his studies at the Guildhall School in London, and has achieved considerable success in competitions. He has performed as a concerto soloist and in piano recitals at major venues around the UK. In addition to his solo work, he is a member of the Mithras Piano Trio, an accompanist, and a jazz pianist.

J S Bach’s “English” suites were written for harpsichord, most probably while he was director of music at the court of Cöthen; the movements are based on various dance forms.

Liszt’s three suites of Années de pèlerinage contain some of his most important music, using piano texture to create atmosphere and to capture the emotion evoked by a scene – a revolutionary concept at the time. Most of the pieces in Book 1 were written in the 1830s during Liszt’s stay in Switzerland with his mistress  Marie d’Agoult.

This concert is supported by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust.

bottom of page