top of page

Brompton String Quartet

18 Sept 2021

Haydn: String Quartet in C major, Op. 74 No 3 ‘the Horseman’
Prokofiev: String Quartet no. 1 in B minor, Op.50
Schubert: Quartettsatz
Beethoven: String Quartet in F major, Op. 59 No 1

The Brompton Quartet was formed in 2018, taking its name from the Brompton Cemetery where they gave their first performance. They achieved almost instant success by winning the St Martins-in-the Fields competition, which has led to a series of concerts in London and around the UK.

After retiring from the service of the Esterhazy family, Josef Haydn enjoyed enormous success on his visits to London; his quartets Op 71 and 74 were written for this new market, and show the composer at the height of his powers. The “horseman” quartet takes its name from the galloping theme in the thrilling finale.

Beethoven’s three quartets, Op.59, were commissioned by the Russian ambassador to Vienna, Count Razumovsky. They marked a revolution in quartet writing, with a new grandeur and dramatic power, and making considerable technical demands on the players.

The Brompton Quartet is the winner of the St Martin’s Chamber Music Competition 2019

bottom of page