top of page

Anita D’Attellis (piano)

4 Jun 2022

Schubert: Four Impromptus, Op. posth. 142

Grieg: a selection from the Lyric Pieces

Scriabin: Three Études:  C sharp minor, Op. 2 no. 1, C sharp minor, Op. 42, no. 5, D sharp minor, Op. 8, no. 12

Anita D’Attellis is well-known to local audiences for her series of Winter Recitals in Wallingford and for performances with Benson Choral Society. She has performed extensively as a solo pianist, chamber musician and accompanist.

Franz Schubert wrote two sets each of four Impromptus, which are among the most important examples of this popular early 19th-century genre. Anita will play the second set, which was published after Schubert’s early death.

Edvard Grieg, who was himself a concert pianist, wrote 66 short pieces for solo piano, published in 10 volumes between 1867 and 1901. Many reflect the rhythms and harmonies of Norwegian traditional music; the collection includes several of his best known compositions.

Alexander Scriabin, one of the most innovative and controversial of early modern composers, was born in Moscow on Christmas Day 1871, and from an early age was fascinated by the mechanism and sound of the piano. He turned to composition after injuring his right hand whilst practising. Whilst initially much influenced by Chopin, he later developed his own substantially atonal musical language. Scriabin had a deep interest in theosophy, mysticism, and the relationship of music and colour.

bottom of page